City Charter

City Charter Facts
  • The City of Wolfforth was established as a home rule city with the passing of its Charter on November 7, 2023. By Resolution 2023-023, the City Council approved the adoption of the Charter and the Mayor certified such Charter on December 4, 2023. 
  • Wolfforth is a home rule city. It has all powers granted to home rule cities by the constitution and laws of Texas. The municipal government provided by the City Charter is known as "Council-Manager Government." All powers of the City are vested in an elected City Council, which enacts legislation, adopts budgets, and determines policies.
  • The City Council consists of five Council members and a Mayor. The Mayor serves a two-year term and is elected at-large. Council members also serve a two-year term but are elected at-large, by Place. Terms for the City Council are on a two year staggered basis such that two Council members and the Mayor are elected in even-numbered years and three Council members are elected in odd-numbered years. The Mayor and each Council member receive no compensation for their service. There is no limitation on the number of terms any one person may serve.
  • The City Manager is the chief administrative officer of the City who executes the laws and administers the government of the City. The City's fiscal year begins on October 1 each year, and ends on the following September 30.
  • The City Manager and City Attorney are appointed by the City Council.
  • A City's Home Rule Charter can be amended every two years by election.
  • To see a full version of the City Charter, please click the box below.

Charter Button